The Michael R. Hein II Trophy is awarded annually to the Club Junior Champion, the winner of the annual Sail-Offs for the BLYC Race Team.  It is named for Mike Hein, a former Junior Sailor from BLYC and the 1982 Junior North American Lightning Champion.  Mike went on to sail in the Maxi World Championships (1986-1991) as a member of the winning crew of Matador2 in 1990 & 1991.  Mike also sailed in the 1992 Americas Cup as the mastman on America3, who under Skipper Bill Koch defeated Skipper Dennis Conner and the crew of Stars & Stripes in the Defender Series and went on to successfully defend the Americas Cup by defeating the Italian challengers on Il Moro Di Venezia.

Mike Hein - America3 - 1992

Past Winners

1992 Walter S. Grubb
1993-98 not awarded
1999 Justin Evans
2000 Cameron Evans
2001 Cameron Evans

Cameron Evans

2003 Brian Foley
2004-2012 not awarded