Michael R. Hein II Trophy

Mike Hein – 1992

The Michael R. Hein II Trophy is awarded annually to the Club Junior Champion, the winner of the annual Sail-Offs for the BLYC Race Team.  It is named for Mike Hein, a former Junior Sailor from BLYC and the 1982 Junior North American Lightning Champion.  Mike went on to sail in the Maxi World Championships (1986-1991) as a member of the winning crew of Matador2 in 1990 & 1991.  Mike also sailed in the 1992 Americas Cup as the mastman on America3, who under Skipper Bill Koch defeated Skipper Dennis Conner and the crew of Stars & Stripes in the Defender Series and went on to successfully defend the Americas Cup by defeating the Italian challengers on Il Moro Di Venezia.



Past Recipients

1992 Walter S. Grubb
1992-98 not awarded
1999 Justin Evans
2000 Cameron Evans
2001 Cameron Evans
2002 Cameron Evans
2003 Brian Foley
2004-present not awarded