Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

During the hearing of a request for redress, the protest committee learns that Boat X has touched a mark during the race. The protest committee protests X, giving her time to prepare, etc., holds a protest hearing with X in attendance, and disqualifies her for breaking rule 31, Touching a Mark. X appeals. You are on the appeals committee; how would you decide this?


Boat X’s appeal is sustained and the protest committee’s decision is reversed. Boat X is reinstated in the race. Rule 60.3(a), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or Rule 69 Action, says that the protest committee cannot protest a boat as a result of information in a request for redress.
This quiz was excerpted from Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes available from US Sailing. For a comprehensive explanation of the rules, read Dave Perry’s Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2024, which is also available from US Sailing. Permission to reprint this quiz for non commercial use is granted by the author.