Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

True or False? You can be penalized if you do not avoid contact with another boat, even if you have the right of way.


TRUE - Rule 14 states, “A boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible.” As a right-of-way boat, you can be penalized under this rule if you did not take action to avoid contact and the contact causes damage or injury.

This quiz was borrowed from the Inland Lake Yachting Association‘s #FairSailing initiative 
Learn more at