US Sailing Team Update

MIAMI, FLORIDA (13 January 24) – After eight days of competition, US Sailing declared winners in five of the Olympic sailing disciplines at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Sailing. Having already secured country qualification in 2023, Women’s iQFOiL athlete Dominique Stater and 49er team Ian Barrows and Hans Henken are fully confirmed to represent Team USA at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.  

Stu McNay and Lara Dallman-Weiss in the Mixed 470, Noah Lyons in the Men’s iQFOiL, and Markus Edegran in the Men’s Formula Kite completed the first of their two-part process to get to Marseille and will now work to qualify the USA for spots in their respective classes. 

Competitors were tested with a wide range of conditions on two course areas – one on the Atlantic Ocean off South Beach and the other in Biscayne Bay. At the beginning of the week, a front tested the athletes’ skills in big wind and waves. As the clouds cleared on Thursday, breeze moderated to classic Miami conditions. 

The top three 49er teams battled for the lead all week, with everything coming down to the last few races on Saturday. Ian Barrows (St. Thomas, USVI) and Hans Henken (Coronado, Calif.) took the win over Andrew Mollerus (Larchmont, NY) and Ian MacDiarmid (Delray Beach, Fla.) by three points. Nevin Snow (San Diego, Calif.) and Mac Agnese (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) came in third with an impressive final day, winning two of the last three races. 

“It could have been anyone’s regatta any day, so we’re really honored to have won in the end,” said Ian Barrows. “We can all take credit as a group for what will hopefully be a good Olympic result in the 49er for the US.” 

“It’s a huge relief to be able to say that we’re going to go represent the United States at the Olympic Games,” said Henken. “We’ve been working towards this for a very long time and to be able to accomplish this is huge for us.” 

In the Women’s iQFOiL, overall winner Dominique Stater (Miami, FL) built momentum over the course of the regatta, eventually pulling ahead to secure her win on points before the final two races. Ultimately, she won 14 of the 27 races sailed in the Women’s iQFOiL fleet.  

“It was an awesome and exciting but also long and stressful week,” said Stater. “I had some great battles with the fleet and I’m very relieved that it’s over and that the path is cleared to Paris.” 

“It was awesome to do the Trials at Miami Yacht Club because I used to come sail with the boys here on Techno 293s all those years ago,” Stater said, reminiscing about her home club and home waters. “I’d go out to Miramar across the bridge with the Nores brothers (runner up in the Men’s iQFOiL) and the Cramers, and I’ve known Florencia, Miami Yacht Club’s Youth Sailing Manager, all through childhood, so it was great to have her here.” 

Though Stu McNay (Providence, RI) and Lara Dallman-Weiss (Shoreview, Minn.) led the 470 event throughout the regatta, they didn’t clinch the win and their athlete selection until the final day. The team was on high alert, with the competition hot on their heels all eight days. Louisa Nordstrom (Sarasota, Fla.) and Trevor Bornarth (Port Salerno, Fla.) finished close behind in second by only one point, followed by Carmen Cowles (Larchmont, NY) and Dave Hughes (Miami, Fla.) in third.  

If they qualify the country, this will be a return trip to the Olympics for both McNay and Dallman-Weiss. McNay is a four-time Olympian (Beijing, London, Rio, and Tokyo), while Dallman-Weiss made her Olympic debut at the Tokyo 2020 Games. McNay and Dallman-Weiss will look to fully secure their ticket to Paris by qualifying the USA at the 470 World Championship in Palma de Mallorca this February 24 – March 3. 

First and second place Men’s iQFOiL riders Noah Lyons (Clearwater, Fla.) and Geronimo Nores (Miami, Fla.) traded the lead up until the last day of racing. It all came down to the final race where Lyons was able to pull ahead, clinching first place overall by one point. Nores took second, while Alex Temko (Clearwater, Fla.) came third. With his win, Lyons will receive US Sailing’s nomination for Team USA and will now work to qualify the USA at the Last Chance Regatta in Hyères, France, April 20-27, as the second of his two-part path to Paris. 

Markus Edegran (Stuart, Fla.) lead the Men’s Formula Kite class, finishing first with 35 points, having held the lead for the majority of the event. Kai Calder (Delray Beach, Fla.) ended in second place with 45 points, trailed closely by Noah Runciman (Houston, TX) in third place with 48 points. Edegran achieves individual athlete selection and will have one more chance to qualify the country at the Last Chance Regatta in Hyères, France, April 20-27.

Top 3 in each class, FINAL RESULTS: 

  • 49er – Ian Barrows & Hans Henken (32), Andrew Mollerus & Ian MacDiarmid (35), Nevin Snow & Mac Agnese (36)  
  • Men’s iQFOiL – Noah Lyons (34), Geronimo Nores (35), Alex Temko (70)  
  • Men’s Kite – Markus Edegran (35), Kai Calder (45), Noah Runciman (48)  
  • Mixed 470 – Stu McNay & Lara Dallman-Weiss (20), Louisa Nordstrom & Trevor Bornarth (21), Carmen Cowles & David Hughes (25)  
  • Women’s iQFOiL – Dominique Stater (32), Bryn Muller (39), Anna Weis (69) 

Race Management Seminar

Buckeye Lake Yacht Club

selected to host US Sailing

Race Management Seminar

On Saturday, February 17, US Sailing will sponsor a Basic Race Management Seminar hosted by the Buckeye Lake Yacht Club.

  This seminar is intended for those with some race committee experience but is also useful for newcomers, racing sailors, and sail-race watchers as well.

Successful completion of the course and testing can lead to US Sailing certification as a Club Race Officer

Instructors:
     Steve Harris, National Race Officer
     Jamie Jones, National Race Officer
     Geoff Endris, Regional Race Officer

The seminar consists of one day, February 17, 2024 from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm held at Buckeye Lake Yacht Club – 5019 North Bank, Buckeye Lake, Ohio 43008

There are approximately 90-120 minutes of REQUIRED pre-course work to be completed prior to the in-person session.  Attendance and participation in the in-person session is required to complete and pass the course.

About 10 days prior to the course, you will receive an email from US Sailing inviting you to participate in the course through Canvas, US Sailing’s online learning platform.

The lead instructor will email you with additional course materials.

US Sailing Course Registration Fee: $40
A discounted US Sailing introductory membership is available to first-timers during the registration process.

Continental Breakfast and coffee will be provided by BLYC.  Lunch is available for purchase from the Club kitchen.

Registration closes Wednesday, February 7.  Walk-in registrations are not permitted.

Questions?  Contact seminar organizer Steve Harris.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Pan Am Games – 2023

The 2023 PanAmerican Games are being contested in Chile this week and the US Sailing Team is off to a strong start after 2 days of competition.

CLICK HERE
to follow the team and get the latest updates from US Sailing

Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

Boats S (on starboard tack) and P (on port tack), both close-hauled, are converging on a beat. P will safely cross S. However, when they are less than two lengths apart, the wind veers (shifts to the right) ten degrees. S luffs (changes her course) in response to the wind shift such that P is unable to keep clear. There is minor contact with no damage or injury, and both boats protest. You are on the protest committee; which boat should be penalized? (From Perry, Quiz 6)

Answer

Boat S is penalized under rule 16.1, Changing Course. Rule 16.1 states, “When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.” S changes course when so close to P that P is unable to keep clear and there is contact. Therefore, S failed to give P room to keep clear, thereby breaking rule 16.1. The fact that S’s change of course is in response to a windshift is not relevant to the application of rule 16.1. P breaks rule 10, On Opposite Tacks, but is exonerated (not penalized) under rule 21, Exoneration, or rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration, because she is compelled to break rule 10 by S’s breach of rule 16.1. S also breaks rule 14, Avoiding Contact; but as the right-of-way boat, she is exonerated (not penalized) for breaking rule 14 as the contact does not cause damage or injury (see rule 14(6)). P does not break rule 14, because S changes course so close to P that it is not possible for P to avoid the contact

This quiz was borrowed from the Inland Lake Yachting Association‘s #FairSailing initiative
Learn more at sailzing.com

Excerpted from Dave Perry’s100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, available from US Sailing. For a comprehensive explanation of the rules, read Dave Perry’s Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2024, which is also available from US Sailing.

Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

The race committee displays flag U as the preparatory signal. At the start, several boats are OCS (on the course side of the starting line) including Boat X. The race committee signals a general recall and restarts the race. Boat X starts cleanly and wins the race, but on shore her score is posted as DSQ. She requests redress. You are on the protest committee; should X be scored DSQ? (From Perry, Quiz 51)

Answer

The race committee acts improperly when it scores Boat X DSQ. Rule 30.3, U Flag Rule, states that a boat shall not be disqualified under this rule if the race is restarted (see also rule 36, Races Restarted or Resailed). Therefore, Boat X is entitled to redress, under rule 62.1(a), Redress; and it would be reasonable to reinstate her in her finishing position in the race and move the other boats down accordingly (see rule 64.2, Decisions on Redress). Furthermore, the protest committee can call a hearing, under rule 60.3(b), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or Rule 69 Action, to consider redress for any other boats that were improperly scored DSQ by the race committee.

This quiz was borrowed from the Inland Lake Yachting Association‘s #FairSailing initiative
Learn more at sailzing.com

Excerpted from Dave Perry’s100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, available from US Sailing. For a comprehensive explanation of the rules, read Dave Perry’s Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2024, which is also available from US Sailing.

2023 Snowball Regatta – Registration is OPEN

REGISTRATION IS OPEN

Registration is open for the 2023 BLYC Snowball Regatta – October 14.

Click on the image above to register and to download the Notice of Race & Sailing Instructions

Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

Boats S and P are sailing directly downwind toward a leeward mark. They had been overlapped for several lengths with S inside and slightly ahead. As S entered the zone, she luffed (headed up). As her bow became abreast of the mark, she bore away to gybe, and there was contact, but no damage or injury. Both boats protest. You are on the protest committee; which boat should be penalized? (From World Sailing Casebook, Case 75)

Answer

P is penalized. S did nothing for which she can be penalized. At position 1, S reached the zone and P was required by rule 18.2(b) to give S mark-room thereafter. In addition, until S gybed P was required by rule 10 to keep clear of S. As S luffed, she was required by rule 16.1 to give P room to keep clear, and until she gybed S was also required by rule 18.4 to sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail her proper course. The mark-room that P was required to give S was the space S needed in the existing conditions to sail promptly to the mark in a seamanlike way. That space was a direct corridor from S1 to a position close to and alongside the mark on the required side. P gave S that room. However, because S had right of way she was not required to remain within that corridor; she was permitted to sail any course provided that she complied with rules 16.1 and 18.4. S luffed gradually through approximately 45 degrees while sailing about three lengths forward, and P made no effort to keep clear. Shortly before position 3, S needed to act to avoid P. At that moment P broke rule 10. When S luffed after position 2, if P had acted promptly there was space for her to have maneuvered in a seamanlike way to keep clear of S. Therefore, S did not break rule 16.1. When S gybed just after position 3, she had not sailed farther from the mark than needed to sail her proper course. Indeed, in the absence of P (the boat ‘referred to’ in the definition Proper Course), S’s proper course might well have been to sail even farther from the mark and higher than she did, so as to make a smoother, faster rounding and to avoid interference with her wind by being backwinded or blanketed by other boats ahead. Therefore, S did not break rule 18.4. Concerning rule 14, both boats broke the rule because there was contact and it was reasonable possible for each of them to avoid it. P is therefore disqualified under rule 14 as well as rule 10. However, S is exonerated because she was the right-of-way boat when the contact occurred and there was no damage or injury (see rule 14(b)). (From World Sailing Casebook, Case 75)

This quiz was borrowed from the Inland Lake Yachting Association‘s #FairSailing initiative
Learn more at sailzing.com

Excerpted from Dave Perry’s100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, available from US Sailing. For a comprehensive explanation of the rules, read Dave Perry’s Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2024, which is also available from US Sailing.

Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

At an upwind finish, two close-hauled boats on opposite tacks (S and P) are converging at the left end mark of the finishing line. When about a length and a half from the mark, P completes a tack to leeward of S without fouling her. However, in order to pass the mark on the correct side, P luffs up to almost head to wind, thereby causing S to sail above close-hauled to avoid her. S protests P. You are on the protest committee; which boat should be penalized? (From Perry, Quiz 37)

Answer

Boat P is penalized for breaking rule 18.3, Tacking the Zone. As P and S are approaching the finishing mark on opposite tacks, rule 18, Mark Room, does not apply because the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward. But once P tacks, the boats are no longer on opposite tacks and rule 18 begins to apply (see rule 18.1, When Rule 18 applies). When P and S are approaching a port-hand windward mark on the opposite tack and P then passes head to wind within the zone at the mark and is fetching the mark, rule 18.3 requires P to not cause S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact. P causes S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact; therefore, she breaks rule 18.3

This quiz was borrowed from the Inland Lake Yachting Association‘s #FairSailing initiative
Learn more at sailzing.com

Excerpted from Dave Perry’s100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, available from US Sailing. For a comprehensive explanation of the rules, read Dave Perry’s Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2024, which is also available from US Sailing.

Racing Rules Weekly Quiz

Each week this season, we will offer a “quiz” question regarding the Racing Rules of Sailing.  Read the scenario below, formulate your answer, then move your mouse over the box to reveal the correct answer.

Need further explanation?
something we can discuss on the porch on Sunday.

This Week's Question

Two boats, L (a leeward boat) and W (a windward boat), are approaching the left-hand end of the starting line, which is a 16-foot powerboat. When W is three lengths from the end of the line, L becomes overlapped on W to leeward from clear astern. There are six seconds to go before the starting signal. L slowly luffs and W keeps clear. As L reaches close-hauled, the starting signal is made. L is a boat length from the powerboat and will not clear it sailing close-hauled. She luffs to head to wind, shooting up and around the powerboat, and then bears away to a close-hauled course. W keeps clear throughout, and protests L for sailing above close-hauled after the starting signal. You are on the protest committee; which boat should be penalized? (From Perry, Quiz 25)

Answer

Boat W’s protest is disallowed. The 16-foot powerboat ranks as both a “mark” and an “obstruction” to the 18-foot sailboats (see the definitions Mark and Obstruction). The preamble to Section C, At Marks and Obstructions, states that the rules of Section C, which include rule 18, Mark-Room, and rule 19, Room to Pass an Obstruction, do not apply “at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water.” Therefore, the situation is governed by the rules of Sections A and B. L becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern of W. Therefore, rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course, requires her to not sail above her proper course. Before the starting signal L has no proper course (see the definition Proper Course); therefore, she is free to sail up to head to wind, provided that when she changes course she gives W room to keep clear (rule 16.1, Changing Course). After the starting signal, L is required to not sail above her proper course. In this case her “proper course” (the course she would sail to finish as soon as possible) is to luff head to wind, coast past the powerboat and then bear away to a close-hauled course (see the definition Proper Course). L sails no higher than this course, and therefore does not break rule 17; and while she is changing course, L gives W room to keep clear under rule 16 .1 as demonstrated by W’s performance. W correctly keeps clear under rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped

This quiz was borrowed from the Inland Lake Yachting Association‘s #FairSailing initiative
Learn more at sailzing.com

Excerpted from Dave Perry’s100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, available from US Sailing. For a comprehensive explanation of the rules, read Dave Perry’s Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2024, which is also available from US Sailing.