The Commodore Gus Schell Award

The Commodore Gus Schell Award, “The Gussie,” is presented annually by the Commodore to a Past Commodore who exemplifies service to the Club and it’s affiliated organizations. The trophy is named for Gus Schell who served as Commodore of BLYC in 1951 and Commodore of the Inter-Lake Yachting Association in 1975. Commodore Schell’s service to both organizations continued until his death in 2012 at the age of 99.

Commodore Gus Schell

BLYC – 1951
I-LYA – 1975

Past Recipients

2000 Marque Debenport
2001 Tim Maite
2002 Nick Desantis
2003 Howard Clark
2004 Greg Miller
2005 Frank Foster, III
2006 Fred Wright
2007 Steve Schilling
2008 Mark Russell
2009 Steve Harris
2010 John Sproat
2011 Mike Jacobs
2012 John Geiger
2013 Joe Campbell
2014 not awarded
2015 Don Harris
2016 Tim Ryan
2017 David Luttenberger
2018 David Luttenberger

† = deceased